First, I have been an ADT customer for 5 years; when I was researching an upgrade to my system, I called them first. This ADT install has resulted in a 3 month debacle by ADT that has yet to be corrected. The sales representative attempted to sell me equipment I already owned (I only realized this on installation day). And...because I was wanting a higher quality camera, the installers sold me "hd bullet" cameras. These cameras needed to be ordered and a second installation date set. On the first installation date, the installers did not follow their procedures and the HVAC did not work after ADT installed the thermostats. I had to hire an electrician to come and repair the HVAC.
5 years ago my next door neighbors were robbed. I’m not sure what they took but what we knew was that there house had been watched for days by this guy. None of us in the neighborhood felt safe. We got ADT right after that & haven’t regretted it since! We’ve never had a REAL incident but my uncle had come over once late after a night out. As soon as the alarm went off so did the phone. ADT was quick to respond. We all sleep better with ADT!
ADT uses security equipment by Honeywell, GE, and ITI. Warranty only comes if you buy a Quality Service Plan (QSP). With QSP, there is no extra charge to replace or fix faulty equipment in the first 90 days after the installation. After that, you receive free replacement parts and repairs only if you continue to pay for the QSP. Plus, any service trip costs about $25 depending on your location.

Emergency sensors are an added layer of security most people don't always think about. Flood sensors will help to detect and notify you of any moisture in your home caused by flooding, burst pipes, or any other water-related emergency. These sensors should be installed in leak-prone areas of the home, like behind the water heater or under sinks. Carbon monoxide detectors will help alert you when high levels of CO are detected in your home, and smoke sensors detect smoke and spikes in temperature.


Vivint outranked every other home security system in J.D. Power’s customer satisfaction evaluation; it was the only company to earn five out of five Power Circles. According to the report, “Vivint Smart Home performs well in high-importance attributes: effectiveness of securing my home; ease of using the system; timeliness of resolving problem, question or request; and clarity of information provided for customer service.”
*I agree to be contacted by an ADT Authorized Dealer even if I am on a Do Not Call list. In addition by clicking the check box I consent to be called back from an ADT Authorized Dealer at the phone number provided, including cellular, which may be generated from an automated phone dialing system. You are not required to provide this consent to make a purchase from us.
While my daughter was visiting she took too long to disarm the system one early morning since she was sleeping. The alarm was in the “instant” mode so when I opened the door it went off and I attempted to silence the alarm with my FOB while my daughter put in the code. ADT took approx 10 minutes to call my house! In this time if it were a real emergency me or my daughter could have been robbed or killed if a true intruder was in the house! This is unacceptable!
Over ten years service and I upgraded to their new Pulse system. Because I've been a customer for so long they didn't put up a fight when I wanted a whole new wireless system. I was able to get it and have a few camera's, key remotes and things we have been missing out on for the past few years. ADT is the clear winner in my books, I hear horror stories of other companies jumping up the rate, going out of service or having 5 year agreements. You don't have to worry about any of this with the ol' White and Blue.
Many times agreed to vist me, let’s say Wednesday morning so I decided to stay and wait just to receive a call that afternoon to reschedule. Can you believe it? Not even explaining/apologizing first. Sensors falling and activating the alarm causing the cops to come to finally find out that the sensor simply fall from the double face tape it was holding it. Yes, double face tape. Also, if you move in the middle of the 3 years contract, you are not allowed to continue the agreement at the new address. You need to start 3 years again or pay the whole remaining months. I WOULD NEVER GO BACK OR RECOMMEND ADT.
City-wide power failure Christmas morning 2015. Power went out while my daughter was preparing our traditional shrimp and grits. Soon after, we hastily left to grandparents' home for early dinner. Before the meal was over, we got a call from ADT. My daughter forgot to turn off the burner under the shrimp. We arrived to a yard full of firemen. Lots of smoke, but praise God, no fire. ADT contacted me and notified fire dept asap. This could have been a real disaster! System worked perfectly!!! Like a TV commercial. Thanks ADT!!!

With my setup, there are two external IP video cameras, namely the single unit from ADT that came with my system and is mounted above the garage, and the video cam installed in the Ring Video Doorbell, which the ADT technicians deliberately placed in such a way not just to record anyone in front of the door, but also to let it act as a backup viewing angle to the one mounted over the garage, just from the other side of the yard.


ADT monitoring has yet to let me down even with my little kids around the home. I only got a basic security system so I can't really compare or say it's better than "X" company but definitely works for a mother of 4 who wants some added peace to her life! My husband is gone a lot and he likes being able to check what's going on in and outside of the home thru the Pulse monitoring app. This is how I got him to buy the system for us in the first place ;).
Just got the service Saturday and on Tuesday canceled,why because I got lied to.seen commercial saying camera was free but when he was at my home said it’s 300 for it,when called the supervisor told my husband,when she goes to buy a new car with bells and whistles there are hidden prices that you have to pay.that did it for us thank goodness we faxed the cancellation.1/16/18
So glad I read your review because I have been going back and forth what cameras should I get. Really didn’t want an adt camera because my contract start all over again locked in for 36 months again and what if I didn’t like the cameras then I just stuck with it or pay a very high break contract fee. I think I will try some stand alone security cameras for now.

They show up the next day, and I ask a perfectly valid question about after my contract ends, and I stop being monitored by ADT, can I add additional sensors?  The answer? Sure! At $150 a piece plus the install cost for what was monitored equipment, but no longer will be.  I argued with them for a minute and they got defensive and condescending.  Fifth problem I dropped it, but they continued to beat a dead horse.  Finally, I asked them to leave and take their equipment with them.  They looked at me like I was crazy.  Maybe so, but I had had enough of them taking 6-7 hours to install a few plastic pieces around my house and answering personal phone calls and trying to get my dog to like them.  The last two are sort of petty, I know, but they were the icing on the cake for me.
November 6th 2018, I had the worst experience with a customer service manager who works for account management in Jacksonville, Florida. She was so nasty with me and spoke to me with so much attitude and no respect. She was not polite, nor did she mention her name when asked. I had to get her name from another representative the next day. I also asked her to read her notes so that she can familiarize herself with my situations and how many times I have been in contact with her department and she refused to do so. Porsha F abruptly hung up on me out of frustration and also sent me a bill for over 1000$ out of frustration and threatened to send me to the debt collection agency.
In the beginning I didn’t think I needed a home security system, my dog was enough. But events happened that made me reconsider. ADT has been a great company for our home. They are professional and are available any time I have a question. The system has been easy to use. I feel much better about working nights knowing my home and loved ones are now protected.
When I moved to Fuquay Varina, they kept calling and knocking on the door until I finally gave in and signed up. Since then - NOTHING - no contact or follow-up whatsoever - even when I've twice requested a new book to replace the one I was given. When I agreed to sign up, they were offering service for about $27.00 per month. When the installer visited, I was sick with a lupus flare that also affected my cognition. Turned out, they took advantage of an elderly, ill woman, charging me not 27 but 47 dollars per month. In addition, when I could think clearly again, I discovered I had signed for THREE years and not the one year the salesman had told me.
My wife has been wanting me to have a security system installed since we moved in. When this was announced about a year ago, I thought it was just the product to fit the bill. I've always been a DIY type of guy and I've been looking to introduce some home automation into the house and this coupled the SmartThings hub with the security system so I could knock out two birds with one stone. The ability to be monitored by ADT was also attractive. This is my first
Most of our testers had positive things to say about living with their home security systems. They reported that their systems improved their overall peace of mind. If you’re prone to fretting late at night or while away on vacation, home security systems deliver on their promise of reassurance. That’s not to say there weren’t annoyances — which can become major sore points if you’re interacting with your system every time you leave the house. LiveWatch’s piercing, impossible-to-mute beeps drew complaints from one tester, as did Link Interactive’s inaccurate digital display. Others, like Vivint and ADT, were easier to incorporate unobtrusively into our daily routines.
I contacted ADT twice. The first time simply as a customer, since I'd just moved into a new house and wanted a full home security system. ADT sales recommended its Remote tier, and I agreed, though there are other tiers to be had (see below). I also investigated SimpliSafe, but had a not-great experience with its customer service, and was heading back to ADT when the opportunity arose to review the Pulse system for PCMag.

*$99.00 Customer Installation Charge. 36-Month Monitoring Contract required at $36.99 per month ($1,331.64). Form of payment must be by credit card or electronic charge to your checking or savings account. Offer applies to homeowners only. Local permit fees may be required. Satisfactory credit history required. Certain restrictions may apply. Offer valid for new ADT Authorized Dealer customers only and not on purchases from ADT LLC. Other rate plans available. Cannot be combined with any other offer.

There are currently six SmartThings-ADT sensors and accessories. For security, they offer a motion sensor, door/window sensor, and a keychain remote with a panic button. Professional monitoring for intrusion and panic alarms costs $24.99/month. For life safety, they have a smoke alarm, carbon monoxide detector, and a water leak sensor. Professional monitoring for life safety with medical and fire dispatch will set you back $14.99/month. If you want to monitor for both life safety and security events, you can combine the two services for $34.99/month.
We have had our ADT system for a month now. I researched two companies prior to choosing ADT: Vector and ADT.  Vector pushed the leased systems and didn’t want to do window contacts (just glass break and motion sensors).  ADT would sell me the system (I would own it) and would do door contacts, window contacts, glass break and a motion sensor.  Since I knew the ADT name and liked the fact that they would do the window contacts, I chose to go with ADT.  (Same prices from both companies.)
A new ADT Customer will be able to take advantage of its lowest monitoring plan (Traditional) at $28.99 per month, however, this plan does not come with free equipment installation or the extended limited warranty. You will be required to sign a 36-month monitoring contract (24-month if you are a resident of California) which is unfortunate if you become dissatisfied with the alarm system after the 6-month money-back guarantee period.
Beware of these cheaters (ADT). I used their service for 10+ years…their service has been declining day by day. They don’t care about existing customers. First you pay a lot for the equipment and then after one year warranty period, they charge you for any failure/visit.Also, Police doesn’t even respond to their calls in majority of California cities (don’t know about other states)Finally, I decided to switch to a ‘better’ option, and I called to cancel. First they tried to convince me to stay with ADT, and later when it didn’t work, they informed me it will take 30 days to disconnect my service (so they can charge another month of monitoring fee).What a ripoff !Keep a distance from them.

† With $99.00 Customer Installation Charge and purchase of alarm monitoring services. Termination Fee applies. For New Customers only. See Important Terms and Conditions to this offer below [or on reverse side when applicable].”Legal Disclaimer:$99 Customer Installation Charge. 36-Month Monitoring Agreement required at $36.99 per month ($1,331.64). 24-Month Monitoring Agreement required at $36.99 ($887.76) for California, including Quality Service Plan (QSP). Form of payment must be by credit card or electronic charge to your checking or savings account. Offer applies to homeowners only. Local permit fees may be required. Satisfactory credit history required. Termination Fee applies. Certain restrictions may apply. Offer valid for new ADT Authorized Dealer customers only and not on purchases from ADT LLC. Other rate plans available. Cannot be combined with any other offer.
DO NOT USE ADT to protect your home. There are better services out there who will be transparent from the start. I’m beyond disappointed in ADT – for a company that has been around as long as they have you would think they would want to keep a good name rather than tarnish it. Oh well. When my contract is up in 3 years, I’ll be promptly cancelling and there will likely be better solutions on the market.
Link Interactive offers 12-, 24-, and 36-month contract options, which makes it great for renters and anyone who isn’t ready for a long-term commitment. Alarm monitoring prices start at $31 and go up to $41 per month, making it more affordable than Frontpoint or Vivint and one of the more competitively priced professionally monitoring services on our list.
My bill was paid in full till the end of Sept. 2018. I called and canceled service on Sept 20, 2018 after sale of the house. Received a bill in Oct 2018 for $18.49. No detail on the bill only explanation after speaking to Scott is a charge incurred that happens because it takes a month to complete the cancellation process and that is wrote in the contract but I did not remember that being mentioned at the time service was started more than 3 yrs earlier. I was never late with a payment and there was never an alarm. So basically a person would be very wise to set up a DIY service and save a lot of money and getting taken advantage of.
In February 2017, I had three cameras installed, in which one camera simply sat on my kitchen sink because the technician didn’t want to hassle with figuring out an electrical connection to set the camera up to view my swimming pool area. The front outside camera was supposed to have night vision, but it didn’t. The night vision function finally popped in surprisingly during the summer of 2018. The camera system is down almost as much as it works.

- I can't, for the life of me, figure out how to display the local time on the touchscreen. The time shown is technically correct, but appears to be shown as UTC time. I'd like to get it display as CST/CDT, but haven't seen any option to change that display feature either within the iOS app, via the SmartThings web portal, or on the touch screen itself.


When I moved to Fuquay Varina, they kept calling and knocking on the door until I finally gave in and signed up. Since then - NOTHING - no contact or follow-up whatsoever - even when I've twice requested a new book to replace the one I was given. When I agreed to sign up, they were offering service for about $27.00 per month. When the installer visited, I was sick with a lupus flare that also affected my cognition. Turned out, they took advantage of an elderly, ill woman, charging me not 27 but 47 dollars per month. In addition, when I could think clearly again, I discovered I had signed for THREE years and not the one year the salesman had told me.
I give them 3.5 stars out of 5. Their equipment is the only thing lacking to me compared to what I have seen with some of my friends but I also haven't upgraded to the new Pulse system yet so I can't really judge apples to apples. I do feel safer with ADT and had them 2 years now. Does anyone know if they offer infrared motion detectors with camera in them? I have seen these advertised but don't really know where to get them. Also, what are the add on costs for more equipment?
Good insight. A criminal would have to be one very well researched guy to know that tip about ADT cameras. My guess is the burglar would move on to the next home if they saw cameras but still good information to know. You're right, there aren't too many cameras that go hand in hand with a security system yet. Getting Swann or other DVR systems that record 24/7 is a good idea. Also Vivint has good integration with their cameras (probably the best out of all security companies currently).

ADT offers pretty much everything in the realm of home security, so just about anybody could find want they want from the company. If you need a simple setup, we suggest getting your doors and windows alarmed with Basic Wireless. If you want something to make your life a little easier (and cooler), we recommend the ADT Pulse setup so you can control just about everything in your house. If you want to be absolutely secure, it’s worth investing in ADT security cameras and video surveillance on top of the basic package.


There are two kinds of fobs that come with the Safewatch, including one that looks like a car's open/lock fob, and two more that are simply flat, gray disc tokens about the size of a quarter intended to fasten to your keychain. The car fob-looking one will arm or disarm the device when you press the appropriate button. The token has no buttons. Just hold it up to the specially marked part of the Safewatch's front panel and you can arm or disarm the system without having to enter an access code. I use these tokens far more than the fob simply because they're faster.
From what customers are saying, once you actually get the ADT system in your home, everything will be fine. It’s ordering and installing that usually give people a bit of a headache. Our advice is to keep an open mind about what equipment you may need, keep track of your budget, and schedule a work-from-home day or day off (if possible) when installation day comes. That way, you stay feeling in control and a part of the process.
Just canceled my alarm monitoring as of 10/29/2018 'cause they were ripping me off at $42 a month! I have an old BHS-4000A alarm system that was installed 10 years ago which can function independently, non monitored, and as a stand alone unit. Found out the hard way that ADT locks down your entire alarm system when you cancel!! I can't even use it as a stand alone alarm!! Even ADT's phone number shows up on the keypad display to call them!! These scumbags at ADT are holding my alarm, that I own, hostage!! It's all over the internet that they do this! 'Security' company my **!! Stay away from this company! They are not in the business to protect you, just their own wallet! Hey ADT, want to change my mind? Unlock my alarm!
Most of our testers had positive things to say about living with their home security systems. They reported that their systems improved their overall peace of mind. If you’re prone to fretting late at night or while away on vacation, home security systems deliver on their promise of reassurance. That’s not to say there weren’t annoyances — which can become major sore points if you’re interacting with your system every time you leave the house. LiveWatch’s piercing, impossible-to-mute beeps drew complaints from one tester, as did Link Interactive’s inaccurate digital display. Others, like Vivint and ADT, were easier to incorporate unobtrusively into our daily routines.
Ideal for small homes and apartments, Canary keeps home security simple, anchoring it in one unassuming, but feature-packed tower: the Canary View All-in-One. The tower hosts a 1080p streaming camera with high-quality night vision (the best IP camera we encountered), a motion sensor, an air quality sensor, and a crazy-loud, 90-decibel siren. It’s like starting a lawn-mower next to your face.
For many, ADT is synonymous with home security; and for most of its 140+ year history, ADT had a lock on the market. Even today, the security giant claims 25 percent of the home security market, appealing to homeowners who want a professionally installed system from a recognized brand. The company has detractors who claim contracts and service is inconsistent among the 400+ authorized ADT dealers across the nation; customers may not know if they’re signing agreements with ADT corporate or with a local dealer who is managing the account. Considering the size of the company, ADT does well at keeping pace with technological advances in the industry as we can see from their numerous ADT Pulse packages. And because their dealer network is nationwide, homeowners anywhere in the country can have access to a professionally installed, security system.

ADT has the worse customer service and the worse legal department. Be careful business owners as ADT will rack up citations on your behalf with the county, not tell you anything about it and years later you find out you have hundreds of dollars in citations accrued that you owe. They dispatch police to your place of business during working hours so I don’t know who is worse, ADT or the actual Miami Dade County Code Enforcement Department. I guess you can say criminals and people that take advantage of others come in all shapes, sizes and disguises.
For residential three-year term of agreement, $36.99/month monitoring rate with maintenance: $99.00 Customer Installation Charge. 36-Month Monitoring Agreement required at $36.99 per month ($ 1,331.64). Form of payment must be by credit card or electronic charge to your checking or savings account. Offer applies to homeowners only. Local permit fees may be required. Satisfactory credit history required. Certain restrictions may apply. Offer valid for new ADT Authorized Dealer customers only and not on purchases from ADT LLC. Other rate plans available. Cannot be combined with any other offer.
Today I had my 14th visit from ADT since I got their system in June. This is after they replaced the entire system one month ago. There is yet another problem and they have to come out next week again. Please DO NOT buy anything from ADT. I payed $3,000 up front and $67 a month for nothing. I can’t get out of the contract unless I pay another $1,000. Anyone but ADT.
*** ADT Pulse Remote installation starts at $199. ADT Pulse Video installation starts at $399. Burglary, Fire, Carbon Monoxide and Medical Alert monitoring requires purchase and/or activation of an ADT security system with monitored Burglary, Fire, Carbon Monoxide and Medical Alert devices. Fire, Carbon Monoxide and Medical Alert services are an additional charge. Quality Service Plan (QSP) is ADT's Extended Limited Warranty. 36-month monitoring contract required fromo ADT Pulse Remote: $52.99 per month, ($1,871.64), ADT Pulse Video: $58.99 per month, ($2,123.64), ADT Pulse Home Control with Video: $59.99 per month, ($2,159.64), including Quality Service Plan (QSP). Additional charges may apply in areas that require guard response service for municipal alarm verification. Prices subject to change. Prices may vary by market. Some insurance companies offer discounts on Homeowner's Insurance. Please consult your insurance company. Local permit fees may be required. Satisfactory credit history required. Additional monitoring fees required for some services. Photos are for illustrative purposes only and may not reflect the exact product/service actually provided.
All ADT Monitored security packages include 24/7 professional monitoring so you can feel safe and secure at your home or away. Choose the Essentials package, Total Protection package or Premium Protection package and get a $100 Visa Reward Card**. Installation starts at $99 for all ADT packages. Call today to find the right ADT monitoring package for your home.
×