The ADT Traditional tier offers only theft and burglary protection hardware, while the Remote tier builds on that to include fire, smoke, and CO2 detection. The Remote tier includes the ability to arm and disarm your alarm via the web, receive email and text alerts, and adds the use of CellGuard backup, which provides a cell-based data and communications link in case your primary internet fails. The Control tier takes everything from the previous tiers and adds the basics of home automation, including climate control, lighting and appliance control, an upgraded touch-screen keypad, and remote (smart) door locks. Finally, the Video tier adds real-time video security and other optional extras like additional keypads if needed.

Frontpoint requires a big commitment after its 30-day trial: a 36-month contract. If within three years, your housing situation or security priorities change, it could cost 80% of your remaining contract to cancel. However, Frontpoint also makes a big commitment to you. Its equipment comes with a matching three-year warranty, while the rest of the DIY industry caps at one year.
Worst business i have ever dealt with. From the start, i was lied to by the installation guy who said there is a grace period of a month to cancel the contact without a termination fee. When i called in a week later to cancel, ADT advised it was an incorrrect information which was given by an outsourced contractor so they can not be responsible for it. So i was stuck with them for two years. When i called to cancel the account after the two year contract was over, ADT required 30days cancelltaion period which meant they will simply collect a payment for an extra month for just wanting to cancel their ridiculous service which i want no part of ever again. From start to finish, this company is a borderline fraud.
Hey Steve., Your right that the Pulse app is a big selling point for most customers. I think what she meant by that is that when the app isn't functioning; your security system still is and monitoring is working. That is the core and luckily during the Pulse app updates the primary function (being monitored 24/7 by ADT) is still in LIVE mode. Thanks and best of luck, we have heard it's back to working smoothly.
It's hard to beat the biggest and best. I started out with Guardian but worked my way over to ADT for practical reasons. Lots of companies aren't nation wide so if you have to move (like we do my husband is in the military) it is too much of a pain to try and get out of contract etc. My advice is go with a national company so you don't have to pay any early termination fees.
The actual alarm system works well. The alarm is a good volume such that it will wake you up but won’t leave your ears ringing. It is fairly easy to learn how to use and operate. However, if the alarm does go off and is not cancelled, the phone operators that call rarely follow the protocol they are supposed to They are supposed to verify your identity and use a passcode to ensure you are not being held under duress, and this was rarely done. Sometimes there was a very long time gap between the alarm going off and getting a phone call to check on our safety. Overall, the system is great if you are home in the house and want alarms for your own alert, but don’t rely on the phone operators to help in a true emergency.
I signed a 3 year contract with ADT and while the did provide security services it was at a high cost. Apparently the original quoted price was a promotional price because every few months my bill went up and up and up. By the end of three years I was paying almost double the original price. There was nothing I could do because it was extremely expensive to break the contract. I have learned my lesson and wont do that again.

In 2017, ADT settled five class action lawsuits that claimed wireless sensors used between November 13, 2009 and August 15, 2016 were vulnerable to hacking. Claimants asserted that hackers could access a security system and disable it through certain wireless sensors used in ADT residential security systems. The suits were centered on ADT’s failure to disclose this potential liability. ADT has denied any liability and maintains that the claims have no merit. Rather than continuing litigation, the company agreed to settle and establish a million settlement fund in order to avoid the ongoing expense and uncertainty. February 26, 2018 was the deadline to file a claim in the settlement.


Users of our site have had quite a bit to say aboutADT-Monitored Security and the customer service it provides. Several reviews proclaimed problems with sales reps not showing up to appointments they scheduled, not to mention the hours that some customers have been put on hold for. Other ADT customers using its monitoring services have mentioned that they were charged high cancellation fees as well as expensive rates for installation and service visits.
The ADT Pulse system was just what I was looking for. The control and app is very fluid (meaning smooth). Camera quality is much higher than any security cameras (such as Swann or Nest) that my friends have, and then you can have one company across all your home automation platforms. Best to do it this way then having to login separate apps for your home security & cameras. Installation was quick and the tech explained everything, better than a DIY option which is becoming the trend.
Probably my worst experience with any service provider in US. We put the system before relocating to England for a year. Three faulty alarms resulted in huge fees from police and ADT refused to fix it. Now we are moving for good abroad and they want to charge us $300 to cancel the service. My advice – never work with them. Once we are back this is the last company I will be contacting.
The equipment included with ADT includes a control panel, keychain remote, three entry sensors, an infrared motion sensor, a high-decibel siren, a backup battery, and yard signs and windows decals. Customers can purchase an available system, or an agent can help customize the perfect system for your home. ADT customers can add safety accessories such as medical pendants and panic buttons that can make the elderly, disabled, or people with certain diseases or ailments feel better protected.
Blink is a wireless security camera system that requires AA batteries and a Wi-Fi connection to operate. The company’s three-camera package is one of our favorites because it can cover a lot of square footage (like the first floor of a house). Each device comes with easy-to-install wall-mounting hardware. Need an extra camera? You can amp up your security by purchasing add-ons for your system.

$99 Customer Installation Charge. 36-Month Monitoring Agreement required at $27.99 per month ($1,331.64). 24-Month Monitoring Agreement required at $27.99 ($887.76) for California, including Quality Service Plan (QSP). Form of payment must be by credit card or electronic charge to your checking or savings account. Offer applies to homeowners only. Local permit fees may be required. Satisfactory credit history required. Termination Fee applies. Certain restrictions may apply. Offer valid for new ADT Authorized Premier Provider customers only and not on purchases from ADT LLC. Other rate plans available. Cannot be combined with any other offer.
Millions of people use ADT alarm systems to protect their homes every day. It’s by far the most popular provider in the nation. But what makes it so popular? ADT has been around longer than any other security company, with 140 years of experience. It uses locally authorized resellers to sell and install its products, which allows ADT to cover more areas of the country. It’s also got multiple monitoring centers running 24/7 to help prevent any kind of service outage. That’s not to say other companies don’t do the same thing; ADT just does it on a larger scale. Because of the local vendors, your experience with ADT will vary greatly based on your location.

We had our home broken into some years ago, but today, I once again feel robbed, preyed upon and vulnerable.. This time, it is the service we choose for peace of mind that have taken from us, Xfinity security. They have a plethora of things wrong with them and I could go on and on. Needless to say I am sad I switched from ADT to them and will go back to ADT as soon as I find a way out of their contract.
The Blink cameras are equipped with built-in sensors that are triggered by motion. When they detect an intruder's movement, the alarm goes off, an alert is sent to your smartphone, and a short video clip of the alarm event uploads to Blink’s cloud storage so you can see what set it off. The best part: You get all this security goodness for no monthly fee.
Pulse also works with Amazon Alexa (Echo, Dot, Plus, etc.) and Google Assistant devices (Home, Max, Mini, etc.). Expanding on voice control, both assistants let you command your Pulse system using your voice. You can arm and disarm your system as well as control your connected smart devices. As disarming a security system with your voice can possibly be a security risk, ADT has safe-proofed this feature by requiring a verbal four-digit pin.
My family has been using ADT while I was growing up (guess you could say I was born and bread white and blue) so I ended up following in their footsteps and got it for my own home whether that was the best deal or not I don't know. Installation process was quick, the guy really wasn't here for too long at all. The "smart" option is a bit confusing and I wish it was explained a bit better, but in time I'll figure it out. I can truly say they are one of the better security systems out there.
Use to have the system at my other house. A few times I forgot the code or put it in wrong and I received a phone call. If you give them a secret code then they will call off the police for you. May be they should have 2 secret codes one for when you are in danger (like maybe if there is a person standing beside you with a gun forcing you give the correct code) and one for when you are not in danger.
Review Last updated: August 1, 2018. Before home security systems existed, ADT hired guards that securely transferred money for banks and businesses. Fast forward 130 years and they are now the largest home security company with over 7 million active customers. What do we like? ADT reviews have stayed true to their core business of home security while several others ventured off into the internet, solar or TV space.
My rating is 8.5/10. I have been with them for over 5 years and just renewed my contract to get a couple of their security cameras. They've always called me each time my alarm goes off which is good for me as I am both a Mother and work a full time job. I'm loving these new mobile controls and being able to see what's going on in my home from work within the Pulse app.

I know a lot of people complain about the $99 installation fee but trust me, if you have ever tried to install one for the first time...$99 is a cheap price to pay! I wish I would have paid someone to install mine for me. It was a headache to do! Anyways, I'm with ADT and it's a great system for my family. Never had a issue them and I don't have a problem with their equipment. It does the job!
When I moved to Fuquay Varina, they kept calling and knocking on the door until I finally gave in and signed up. Since then - NOTHING - no contact or follow-up whatsoever - even when I've twice requested a new book to replace the one I was given. When I agreed to sign up, they were offering service for about $27.00 per month. When the installer visited, I was sick with a lupus flare that also affected my cognition. Turned out, they took advantage of an elderly, ill woman, charging me not 27 but 47 dollars per month. In addition, when I could think clearly again, I discovered I had signed for THREE years and not the one year the salesman had told me.
Kyle is all about first-hand experience and hands-on testing. He has BA in Creative Writing from Weber State University and comes to ASecureLife.com with extensive experience testing and installing security cameras, security system equipment, and personal safety devices. With two kids at home, Kyle’s also a huge advocate for safety in the home and is passionate about sharing his findings with as many people as possible.
SimpliSafe doesn’t require contracts, which tells us that it is confident in the service it provides and doesn’t need to lock you down. SimpliSafe offers low-cost cellular monitoring starting at $15 to $25 per month depending on whether you want mobile access. The only company with a similarly low monitoring cost is Scout, but it doesn’t offer the same range of equipment that you can get with SimpliSafe.

ADT Security Services is the largest home security provider in the US. Compared with most other home security companies, ADT offers a wider range of services. They also have six monitoring centers nationwide that are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Protect Your Home-ADT Authorized Premier Provider provides home security equipment packages that can connect to one ADT’s monitoring centers. This helps homeowners combine the monitoring expertise of ADT with the value offered by Protect Your Home.
As the largest and most well-known brand in home security, ADT has a lot to offer homeowners looking for a professionally installed security solution from a company that has been part of the industry since the beginning. They continue to innovate and improve, taking advantage of technological advances and evolving their product offering to meet the needs of modern homeowners. ADT has recently made significant strides in the connected home space as the home automation market continues to expand. ADT’s Canopy® is a new professional monitoring service designed to support their partnerships and integrations with smart home devices and ecosystems such as Samsung’s SmartThings (as well as their smart watch, the S2), Nest and LG. ADT Pulse Home security also continues to evolve with the addition of voice command capabilities and the company’s partnership with IFTTT allows ADT Pulse users even more ways to interact and control their home environment and security system.
“Was having a lot of trouble signing in on my Pulse account. Had to use it every time. Called and talked to 3 people about this problem. All they could tell me was to reboot my phone. I did so. On the 4th call I talked to a man and he told me that ‘When you did the last upgrade the this was a existing problem.’ Said that the company has known about this and was trying to fix it. Just forget that the emails I was getting telling me that my phone was LOCKED UP to just forget it and when the next upgrade comes it should be fixed. Why did it take 3 people who didn’t know about this problem and 1 that did.” – Kenneth, August 10, 2017, Consumer Affairs
†Total package includes 6 door/window sensors. No substitutions allowed. Labor charges may apply. Licenses: AL-17-1104, AZ-ROC217517, AR-2008-0014, CA-ACO6320, CT-ELC.0193944-L5, DE-07-212, FL-EC13003427, DC-602513000006, GA-LVA205395, ID-ELE-SC-39312, IL-127.001042, IN-City of Indianapolis: LAC-000156, IA-AC-0036, KY-City of Louisville: 483, LA-F1082, LA-F1914, LA-F1915, ME-LM50017382, MD-107-1626, MA-1355C, MI-3601205773, MN-TS01807, MS-15007958, MO-City of St. Louis: CC354, St. Louis County: 84959, MT-247, NE-14451, NV-68518, City of Las Vegas: 3000002944, NJ-34BF00021800, NM-353366, NY-Licensed by the N.Y.S. Dept. of State UID#12000317691, #12000286451, NC-1622-CSA, OH-53891446, City of Cincinnati: AC86, OK-1048, OR-170997, Pennsylvania Home Improvement Contractor Registration Number: PA022999, RI-3582, SC-BAC5630, SD-1025-7001-ET, TN-1520, TX-B13734, ACR-3492, UT-6422596-6501, VT-ES-2382, VA-115120, WA-602588694/PROTEYH934RS, WV-042433, WI-City of Milwaukee: PAS-0002790, WY-LV-G-21499.
Just canceled my alarm monitoring as of 10/29/2018 'cause they were ripping me off at $42 a month! I have an old BHS-4000A alarm system that was installed 10 years ago which can function independently, non monitored, and as a stand alone unit. Found out the hard way that ADT locks down your entire alarm system when you cancel!! I can't even use it as a stand alone alarm!! Even ADT's phone number shows up on the keypad display to call them!! These scumbags at ADT are holding my alarm, that I own, hostage!! It's all over the internet that they do this! 'Security' company my **!! Stay away from this company! They are not in the business to protect you, just their own wallet! Hey ADT, want to change my mind? Unlock my alarm!
With a founding date of 1874, ADT is probably the most mature player in the smart home security market. While it's still building the home automation portion of its services portfolio, its Pulse system is both secure and sophisticated. But while the company does a great job treating its customers well on a service front, it's important to note that the Pulse system is neither DIY or cheap.
After doing quite a bit of research into home security systems I was referred to ADT. After speaking with a sales representative and being completely up front and honest on my end, the sales person completely lied about the equipment that would be provided, the cost of the monitoring service, AND even the offer of the referral and gifts cards with their deal.
Kyle is all about first-hand experience and hands-on testing. He has BA in Creative Writing from Weber State University and comes to ASecureLife.com with extensive experience testing and installing security cameras, security system equipment, and personal safety devices. With two kids at home, Kyle’s also a huge advocate for safety in the home and is passionate about sharing his findings with as many people as possible.
License Numbers: Safe Streets USA License Numbers: WA – SAFESSU854P8, EC – SAFESSU846BO, OR – 208546 CLE429, NM – 387294, TX – B18742 ACR-2072317, CO – 2015-BFN-0008204, AL – BA13-99 AESBL #993, AR – BAE20110029 Safe Streets License # CMPY.0002025, CT – CLELC.0185208-L5, DC – BL602511000104, DE – BA11-201, FL – BAEG13000404, GA – BLLVA205866, IA – BAAC0129, IL – BA127001452, IN – BALAC000190, MD – BA1071680 01981855, MI – BA3601206276, MN – BATS02343, MS – BA15013023 10429325, NC – BL624CSA, NJ – BA34BF00018800 13VH06160200, NY – BA12000302109, PA – CLPA 024334, SC – BABAC 13455, TN – BA0000-1611, VA – BA11-6617, WV – BAWV047939, NV – 0081024, AZ – 302967 19898, LA – F2164, OK – AC440557, UT – 9439243-6501, CA 5685; ASC Security USA License Numbers: CA – ACO5314
×