SimpliSafe doesn’t require contracts, which tells us that it is confident in the service it provides and doesn’t need to lock you down. SimpliSafe offers low-cost cellular monitoring starting at $15 to $25 per month depending on whether you want mobile access. The only company with a similarly low monitoring cost is Scout, but it doesn’t offer the same range of equipment that you can get with SimpliSafe.

The only major downside to Pulse is price and its three-year service contract. When compared with other players, like Vivint or Frontpoint, the pricing structure is similar in that there's an upfront installation cost you can pay all at once or spread across the first three months, and then a monthly cost for maintenance and monitoring. If you compare only prices published on the web, then ADT Pulse looks very competitive. But in practice, if you opt for the higher end of the tiering scale and a modified system with a bunch of devices that aren't included in a basic tier package (and ADT will steer you that way), your price will quickly balloon. In my case, I wound up with an excellent all-around solution, but an eyebrow-arching upfront cost of $3,276.79 and a monthly charge of $63.89, which makes Pulse the most expensive solution we've tested to date.
I have been with ADT going on 11 years. I had the system installed because of a psycho next door neighbor (they have since moved – thank God) and this system has been my life saver not to mention my peace of mind. Unbiased – I am completely happy with them. Their response time is excellent and their customer service has always been prompt with helping me with billing questions, referrals or upgrades to my current system.
A few minutes into the DIY installation, our tester got stuck getting her control panel up and online — it just wouldn’t connect. A help window popped up with a number to call, and a Frontpoint rep helped her troubleshoot the connection. After about 10 minutes, he could tell there was an issue with the circuit board. Certainly not ideal — but the rep apologized and shipped her replacement control panel overnight.
I have been an ADT customer for my two businesses. Because the locations were far apart I had to make it two separate systems but I still got a good discount for having them both under my name. I got all the equipment for free, and their Pulse monitoring package for under $99 a month (keep in mind that's 2 locations). I figure that is a cheap price to pay to keep an eye on all the high expenses inside my business and I am going to do it for my home too. Cheaper then most the other home bills people pay like TV, internet and utilities and yet it actually protects the most important things, their valuables and their family members. It's a wonder why some people are too cheap to pay for this assuming they can afford a house in the first place.
When we purchased ADT Security Company we thought it was kind of expensive, but we were willing to pay the price because when we would drive around in nice neighborhoods we would see their signs in so many peoples yards that we assumed that they must have been a good choice. Boy, were we wrong! We did not have get the service that we expected. Our alarm kept going off at all times of the night and day. Our neighbors started started complaining. The police even came out numerous times, and they started getting frustrated with us. I was even afraid that we might be sued fro disturbing the peace. Then when we would call the company, or they would call us they were many times very rude, or irritated. Needless to say, they weren’t worth the price, so we cancelled their services, and have been shopping around for someone better. Maybe each town’s ADT company is different, but now I warn all my neighbors, and friends to go with someone else!
ADT utilizes a nationwide network of authorized dealers as well as their own personnel to sell, install and support ADT security system. The dealer network allows ADT to maintain a local presence for their customers while providing the stability and service capabilities of a large, national security provider. However, it can also lead to an inconsistent experience for customers and negative customer reviews. Online customer reviews typically revolve around issues with local dealers and include missed appointments, aggressive upselling and misrepresentation.

That's a very valid argument in ADT's favor. Moving on to different states or cities is sometimes inevitable for many, which means if your security company doesn't have a nation-wide reach, then there can be some really unnecessary hassles involved with your moving. A lot of bad blood can be avoided by going with old guys like ADT, which covers the entire nation in its length and breadth. Good points!


ADT security cameras offer an added benefit to your ADT home security package. Although not available on most of their contract plan, ADT security cameras can be installed on the ADT pulse video contract.  You can expect around $49+/month for monitoring services.   They also have promotions going on and can get a connected home security system with it for low cost.


SimpliSafe doesn’t require contracts, which tells us that it is confident in the service it provides and doesn’t need to lock you down. SimpliSafe offers low-cost cellular monitoring starting at $15 to $25 per month depending on whether you want mobile access. The only company with a similarly low monitoring cost is Scout, but it doesn’t offer the same range of equipment that you can get with SimpliSafe.
The agent lied to me when I specifically asked upfront about termination policies. She said I could cancel the policy anytime and didn’t reveal termination fee. They can lie anything to rip a big chunk of money off you. Each time you call customer service or loyalty department, you get different answers and they never get back to you when you leave a message. I have had many services as I frequently move to different states, this is the worst available out there.
THE LIGHT CAME ON UP BY THE GARAGE THAT MY HUSBANDS BUSINESS WAS IN EARLY MORNING STILL DARK OUT I KNEW SOMETHING WASN’T RIGHT I RAN UP TO SEE AND SURE ENOUGH ,A KID WAS TRYING TO GET INTO OUR BUSINESS HE SAW ME AND GOT ANGRY AND BECAME VERY VIOLENT TOWARDS BE FORTUNATELY IT HAD SET OF AN ALARM TO OUR LOCAL COPS AND THEY WERE ON THERE WAY SO I TOLD HIM THAT AND HE TOOK OFF REALLY QUICK LEAVING ME ALONE NO LONGER HASSLING ME. THE LOCAL POLICE CAUGHT UP WITH HIM SHORTLY AFTER, AND HE WAS TAKEN TO JAIL. HE HAD A WARRANT OUT FOR AN ASSAULT TO A WOMEN IN WHICH SHE WAS 9 MTHS PREGNANT. HE HAD REALLY HURT HER BAD. I THANK MY LUCKY STARS EVERYDAY FOR OUR ADT 🙂
When it comes to deterring potential break-ins, brand recognition has significant value. In fact, a study from The University of North Carolina at Charlotte Department of Criminal Justice & Criminology found that a security sign was more of a deterrent to burglars than outdoor lighting and a neighborhood watch. An ADT sign in your front yard is a good bet if you want to know you’re protected (and want other people to know it, too).

i love the fact of having a security system for my family i dont like the fact i have to pay alot for things to be covered under the system every window door and camera is extra.i love having a keypad but the response is very slow i dont like having a gap if the alarm goes off to when they contact you they should be calling as soon as alarm goes off the customer service is great price is ok but they should offer better packages to secure house instead of everything extra
The OmniPro II is Leviton's flagship comprehensive security The OmniPro II is Leviton's flagship comprehensive security and automation control system. Boasting the largest feature set it can control the maximum number of devices and is designed to provide security and automation for large residences and small commercial installations such as restaurants offices and franchise locations. In addition to ...  More + Product Details Close
ADT scores high by providing professional installation and top-quality relocatable products that can be customized to fit your needs and the layout of your business or home. Their security systems include an event triggered alarm, live surveillance, an assortment of indoor and outdoor cameras, motion sensors, door and window sensors, recessed door sensors, glass break protection, and crash and smash protection for their control panel. They also provide environmental protection, such as carbon monoxide, flood, temperature change and smoke sensors, as well as a panic button and an emergency alert button.
Hey Jen, the thing I have liked most about ADT is you get the most respect out of the yard sign for it. Sounds like you are in the ghetto (or bad part of town) like me and just having the sign alone gives my home the respect it needs on the block. I like the service too but the sign is the best part, also nice if you work graveyards or weird shifts like lots of us in the hood do.
Video doorbells offer an easy way to see who is at your door without having to open or even get close to the door. These devices connect to your Wi-Fi network and will send an alert when someone approaches your doorway. They'll record video when the doorbell is pressed or when motion is detected, and usually offer two-way audio communication that allows you to speak with the visitor from anywhere via your phone.
Installation: Some companies offer professional installation while others send you equipment to install yourself. Both options are fine—it really comes down to personal preference. Most companies that offer professional installation don’t charge huge installation fees, and some companies that have you install equipment yourself still charge activation fees.

Ross, a big welcome!! We could not be happier to hear how safe ADT makes you and your family feel. Your safety and peace of mind means the absolute world to us. Thank you so much for allowing ADT to monitor your home for the past two years. We are looking forward to monitor you daughter's and son-in-law's home in the near future! Have a great day, Ross! -Katie


I tested ADT Pulse (starting at $28.99 per month plus components and installation), which combines the company's alarm and security service with home automation and monitored surveillance. ADT easily rivals its top competitors, including Vivint Smart Home, in functionality, though if you opt for the top of its service tiers as I did, you might want to prep yourself for sticker shock. Even so, ADT Pulse earns our Editors' Choice for home security systems.
I agree with Jan. Security systems are not like a cell phone that you need the 'latest new gadget' every 2 or 3 years. If you get a quality system it can last 10+ years, just make sure you adapt to any big changes. There have really only been a few large leaps in alarm technology. 1) When it went from wired to wireless in later 90's. 2) When it went from land line to cellular towers in 00's. 3) Automation which really is a separate market and niche although closely related. Hope that helps in your decision making!
Most of our testers had positive things to say about living with their home security systems. They reported that their systems improved their overall peace of mind. If you’re prone to fretting late at night or while away on vacation, home security systems deliver on their promise of reassurance. That’s not to say there weren’t annoyances — which can become major sore points if you’re interacting with your system every time you leave the house. LiveWatch’s piercing, impossible-to-mute beeps drew complaints from one tester, as did Link Interactive’s inaccurate digital display. Others, like Vivint and ADT, were easier to incorporate unobtrusively into our daily routines.

Many of ADT’s higher-end home automation offerings are customizable (although this will affect your final price). There’s a vacation mode that arms the system, keeps a steady temperature, and turns lights on and off to suggest that someone’s home. You can also set up situational operations. For example, if the sensor detects a fire, you can automate doors to unlock and the air conditioner to shut off, slowing the circulation of smoke.
We had our home broken into some years ago, but today, I once again feel robbed, preyed upon and vulnerable.. This time, it is the service we choose for peace of mind that have taken from us: ADT.Don’t sign with ADT!!You will read similar warnings on blogs, comments, feeds and other online reviews – if you haven’t already signed a contract – then you’re luckier than most, keep your money and find another way of keeping you and your possessions safe!It’s no surprise they score 1.9/10 on ‘Best Home Security Companies’ by 648 reviewers..Here is why:No Free Installation With Traditional Plan36-Month Contract Required Outrageous cancellation termsExcessively long call times Pushy sales tactics Regularly increases monthly fee for no reasonRequires written, signed-for letters to acknowledge any customer requests/complaints Many Negative User ReviewsPlethora of BBB ComplaintsIf you read this and ADT manage to convince you, when you do eventually become disaffected, write your own post and share with others.It is only by sharing the information and by buying services that are ethical, fair and transparent that we can shape the industry for the better and rid the market of companies like ADT.We deserve better.
My bill was paid in full till the end of Sept. 2018. I called and canceled service on Sept 20, 2018 after sale of the house. Received a bill in Oct 2018 for $18.49. No detail on the bill only explanation after speaking to Scott is a charge incurred that happens because it takes a month to complete the cancellation process and that is wrote in the contract but I did not remember that being mentioned at the time service was started more than 3 yrs earlier. I was never late with a payment and there was never an alarm. So basically a person would be very wise to set up a DIY service and save a lot of money and getting taken advantage of.
Even if we didn't get a military discount (I'm in services) I still would have gone for ADT. Almost all of my fellow comrades are using ADT in their houses and they don't have any complaints yet. Though obviously military discount is always sweet. It goes on to show how caring and patriotic a company is towards their nation. No home security company I know of does that I think.
We have had an ADT monitored security system in our home for more than 5 years now. We live in a relatively safe area, but I like being able to know that the house is safe when I am home alone with our young son or when we are out of town for a long weekend. The system itself is easy to activate and de-activate and we love turning the chime feature on to know whenever any door in the house is open. Some of the cons of using ADT are that if there is an issue with the system (a bad battery back up or weird beeping – which happened to us after a lengthy power outage) there can be a delay in getting a service technician to the house.
In 2017, ADT settled five class action lawsuits that claimed wireless sensors used between November 13, 2009 and August 15, 2016 were vulnerable to hacking. Claimants asserted that hackers could access a security system and disable it through certain wireless sensors used in ADT residential security systems. The suits were centered on ADT’s failure to disclose this potential liability. ADT has denied any liability and maintains that the claims have no merit. Rather than continuing litigation, the company agreed to settle and establish a million settlement fund in order to avoid the ongoing expense and uncertainty. February 26, 2018 was the deadline to file a claim in the settlement.

There are several types of motion sensors out there, the most common being PIR (passive infrared) sensors that detect body heat. These sensors are ideal for home security use as they are cost effective and work well indoors in any lighting environment. Active motion sensors emit microwaves to detect movement and are better suited to harsh environments, including outdoor use, but are prone to false alerts due to wind-blown debris. A dual motion sensor combines both active and passive technology to reduce false alerts and provide an extra measure of reliability.
The installation process was also shady. That being said after he scared us about break ins in the area we still wanted protection. Once service began it was great until we had to move and eventually sell our home. It was at this point when I discovered he had committed us to a 3 year contract and signed a document for it–FORGERY! And because he most likely had my wife click a link without being able to read the contract because of the “necessary edits he had to make” we were going to be held to fire for this contract. I told a representative we no longer were going to own the property and to cancel service and to send me a copy of the contract. This is where I saw he signed the contract not me!
Users of our site have had quite a bit to say aboutADT-Monitored Security and the customer service it provides. Several reviews proclaimed problems with sales reps not showing up to appointments they scheduled, not to mention the hours that some customers have been put on hold for. Other ADT customers using its monitoring services have mentioned that they were charged high cancellation fees as well as expensive rates for installation and service visits.
We have been ADT customers, since ADT took over Broadview/Brinks. Today March 27th 2014, we had our 15y old system upgraded. Our field technician and ADT employee named xxxxxxx gave us outstanding service today. He was professional and knowledgeable, patient with my questions. His answers were complete and at a level that I could understand. We have not always been as fortunate to have such a high level of service, with the company we had before ADT. It is a refreshing experience to encounter someone who is interested in good customer service and makes certain the job is completed correctly before he leaves. You need to “clone” this individual! He is an exceptional example of the type of employee that gives superior ROI to the company he works for.
There are two kinds of fobs that come with the Safewatch, including one that looks like a car's open/lock fob, and two more that are simply flat, gray disc tokens about the size of a quarter intended to fasten to your keychain. The car fob-looking one will arm or disarm the device when you press the appropriate button. The token has no buttons. Just hold it up to the specially marked part of the Safewatch's front panel and you can arm or disarm the system without having to enter an access code. I use these tokens far more than the fob simply because they're faster.
ADT has the worse customer service and the worse legal department. Be careful business owners as ADT will rack up citations on your behalf with the county, not tell you anything about it and years later you find out you have hundreds of dollars in citations accrued that you owe. They dispatch police to your place of business during working hours so I don’t know who is worse, ADT or the actual Miami Dade County Code Enforcement Department. I guess you can say criminals and people that take advantage of others come in all shapes, sizes and disguises.

That said, my installation price is considerably higher than what most people will see, since ADT installed several components simply so I could make them part of my test. ADT claims typical installations in homes similar to mine would be around $1,100. A spokesperson broke down those averages across its core tiers with Tier 1 (Traditional) averaging between $49 and $500 for installation, then $28.99 per month, and Tier 2 (Remote) averaging $500 to $1,000 for installation, then $47.99 per month. Tier 3 (Control) and Tier 4 (Video, which was my tier) generally run $1,000 to $1,500 and above for installation, and then $49.99 per month for Control and $59.99 per month for Video.


If This Then That or IFTTT for short, is a service that allows you to connect other services and applications together (using what IFTTT calls “applets”), letting you accomplish almost any task imaginable. For instance, you can use IFTTT to automatically cut off your phone’s WiFi when you leave home to save power. Just remember that if you use IFTTT to automatically disarm your system when you enter your home, your phone’s location service must be powered on. Otherwise you’ll get a loud surprise.
A few minutes into the DIY installation, our tester got stuck getting her control panel up and online — it just wouldn’t connect. A help window popped up with a number to call, and a Frontpoint rep helped her troubleshoot the connection. After about 10 minutes, he could tell there was an issue with the circuit board. Certainly not ideal — but the rep apologized and shipped her replacement control panel overnight.
Home automation allows you manage features of your home — such as lights and door locks — with a mobile app or via voice commands. This means you can perform tasks like closing your garage door, adjusting your thermostat, or turning on lights even if you’re not at home. Most home security providers offer home automation and include a variety of smart home devices. If you already have a smart home and use an Amazon or Google smart hub, you can integrate your security system and manage it on the same app as your other devices. That said, it’s important to make sure your security system pairs with your smart hub before purchasing so as to avoid any issues when syncing the two.
While we took note of the general costs of each system provider, prices will vary greatly based on the equipment package that’s best for your home and security needs, and your preferred level of monitoring. For most DIY systems, the plans will include more than just a monitoring service. As you upgrade tiers, you gain access to facial detection, custom modes, remote control, and mobile alerts. We’ve broken down a comparison of the monthly fees you’ll have to pay for each system.
We have had our ADT system for a month now. I researched two companies prior to choosing ADT: Vector and ADT.  Vector pushed the leased systems and didn’t want to do window contacts (just glass break and motion sensors).  ADT would sell me the system (I would own it) and would do door contacts, window contacts, glass break and a motion sensor.  Since I knew the ADT name and liked the fact that they would do the window contacts, I chose to go with ADT.  (Same prices from both companies.)
*$99 Customer Installation Charge. 24-Month Alarm Monitoring Agreement required at $33.99 per month ($815.76). Form of payment must be made by credit card or electronic charge to your checking account or savings account. Offer applies to homeowners only. Local permit fees may be required. Satisfactory credit history required. Certain restrictions may apply. Offer valid for new ADT Authorized Dealer customers only and not on purchases from ADT LLC. Other rate plans available. Cannot be combined with any other offer. 24 month applies to California. All other states require 36 month alarm monitoring agreement ($1223.64). Offer not available in all areas.
If you have a wired home security system, your control panel is hardwired into your home and connected to a landline. If a burglar cuts the telephone line, your system may not be able to connect to the monitoring station. A wireless security system is generally considered safer, since they can’t be physically cut by potential burglars. Wireless connections aren’t always foolproof, but many systems have algorithms built in to alert you and the monitoring center of any wireless signal interference.
I have ADT at my home and I really like it…THey are quick to call me if there is any trouble and they will come out and fix anything that is out of whack. I would recommend them to anyone for the response time and the security feel.The only issues I have had with them are the window alarms dont get them if you dont want to go home everytime it thunders..wow that was nuts..And the price seems to be a little steep..But I will keep them for my familys peace of mind..

Actually, Jean's concerns are valid. I had spoken with ADT about this recently after purchasing their cameras. Apparently, the cameras are motion-activated and will only record for 30 seconds. Afterwards, the camera goes through a 4-minute resetting period before it can record again. Technically, an intruder can walk into a camera's view (thus activating the camera) then walk away and wait 30 seconds for it to finish recording. Afterwards, the intruder will have 4 full minutes to do whatever they want before the camera starts to record again. That's plenty of time to break in and out, and the only clues you'll have is footage of someone walking by. I ran this scenario by an ADT rep and they were stumped. The rep than told me that ADT does, allegedly, offer cameras that record constantly, but they require additional equipment and cost upwards of $350 per camera. Sorry, not gonna happen. For $350, I can buy 4 cameras at Home Depot and have them stream to an external hard drive. Don't get me wrong, I love ADT's window and door monitors, but the cameras are for the birds. I'll be replacing my ADT cameras with third party cameras that actually record 24/7.
So I have a ADT Alarm System in my house that was already here when I moved in and recently today the power randomly went out and came back on which I guess rebooted the system. I decided to step outside to see if everything was okay and when I opened my door the alarm went off and was extremely loud.. I held my hand over the speaker to kill most of the sound and decided to call ADT because I didn't know what to do I never had this happen to me before. When I called ADT the guy told me someone can come out tomorrow to take a look at it and stop it from making noise but I had to pay $100. This is for a security system I didn't set up, so I just had my husband unplug everything for now. Going to have the ADT rep still come out and see how much it would be for a new system to be put in. Most people probably don't fall into this situation but hope it helps nonetheless.
Of all the DIY systems we looked at, Abode’s free self-monitoring plan packs the most punch. With no subscription whatsoever, you can use every feature available on the mobile app (which includes options like push notifications, a live surveillance feed, and system controls) and you get access to three days’ worth of system activity, like when a particular door was opened or a particular motion sensor was triggered. If you want to bump that history up to two weeks, the Connect plan costs $10 per month. And for $30 per month, you get a 90-day timeline plus professional monitoring.
5/2017 aunt moves to retirement home. Canceled monitoring service. Still in auto bill system, I sent back stating it was canceled. 1/2018 she passes. Received continuation of bill. Sent back previous cancellation note along with death certificate. In April 2018 someone at ADT actually recognizes that she is dead. I receive invoice for 83.00, no big deal I just pay it. THEN I get invoice for 250.00 with no explanation for what it is for, I ignore. Another one, I write back, another one in Oct. 2018 and I call. They say that they sent me a box for the equipment and I have to return it. I never got a box and their records indicate that an empty box was returned to sender. The box would have been the only indication to me that I needed to return any equipment. So 18 months later I have to see if someone kept the equipment from a 95 year old who lived in a nursing home? This is not the first issue with ADT. Please don't use them, it's a headache.

YES! There is always an ADT special. Not only ours, but our price match policy assures that if you do see a better ADT discount out there, be it an on-line offer or in writing, when you bring it to us, we'll match it. So whether your question is: Is there an ADT special offer? or just how much is ADT? The answer is we've got a great value for you. Check these ADT special offers out:


I use ADT in all of my tenants homes and they like it. I have a influx of new tenants constantly so each time that happens I change the alarm code and make them a new user login on the ADT pulse app. I realize most people won't need to do all of this extra work when it is just them using it. If it can hold up in rentals it is definitely a worth-while security system!
Whether you’re across the country or in your own backyard, help manage your home and ADT alarm monitoring with our most high-tech offer available. ADT Pulse® starts at $14/week* and includes convenient, practical features for on-the-go monitored security users. From mobile access and remote arm and disarm capabilities to lightning control and video surveillance, see how this cutting-edge offer can help you manage your home’s security 24/7.
×